high school… via computer?!

New York Times: In Florida, Virtual Classrooms with No Teachers

Okay, I’m sorry, but the greatness of technology does not mean we no longer need teachers. I find it 100% ridiculous that any classes, let alone Advanced Placement classes, would be taught only by a computer without a real teacher in the room. I can get behind teachers using technlogy to teach or practice a skill; I support the use of things like blogs and wikis in classes (I used them myself); I acknowledge the benefit to students of being able to become more familiar with various technologies.  But does Miami-Dade really expect students to master calculus and macroeconomics without a teacher?! I don’t care if there is a teacher somewhere on the other end of the connection who can answer questions. That just doesn’t provide the same instruction and support as a live teacher in a classroom can!

I was trying to think of courses that WOULD work this way, and I haven’t come up with any. The closest is a history course – students could read the information, analyze texts, and participate in discussions with “classmates” via a discussion board or something. But online interaction just can’t replace in person discussions. I know from experience a few online courses myself that they are usually not engaging or challenging, and they would have to be extremely structured in order to guarantee the same level of learning that a student would experience with an in-person teacher. I don’t trust these online courses to provide that.

I’m also amazed that students apparently found themselves in these classes with no warning. This is a major shift, and students should have the option to opt out if they do not want to learn online. As a student, I’d rather be in a huge classroom filled with real people and a teacher than stare at a computer screen. As a teacher, I think it would be terribly boring and unrewarding to “teach” something that only took place online. How would I develop the relationships with students that I so treasure?

I don’t know the details of Florida’s new restrictions on classroom size, but surely it can’t have been THAT bad before. I had a class of 45 students for about two weeks, and while it was challenging, it wasn’t the worst thing ever. There has to be a better way to create better learning and teaching conditions than shifting everything to computers!

About educationescritora

I'm a former high school Spanish teacher and central office employee. I believe that excellent public education will be a catalyst for positive social change in our country and that we cannot wait any longer to deliver the teachers, knowledge, and skills that our students need.
This entry was posted in Curriculum, Learning, Student Engagement, Technology and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

